Essential Facts About The Australian Open Tennis


Essential Facts About The Australian Open Tennis

Posted January 15, 2018 | By Jimena @ Betting Gods

The Australian Open is one of the biggest tennis tournament held annually over the month of January in Melbourne, Australia. Started in 1905, the tournament is chronologically the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events of the year – the other three being the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open

The categories during this event are:

Men and Women’s singles
Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles
and junior’s championships; as well as wheelchair, legends and exhibition events.

Fun facts about the Australian Open

– This tournament used to be played on grass until the year 1988, when they changed to hard court.
– Mats Wilander who won in 1983, 1984 and 1988 is the only player that won in both grass and hard courts.
-Ken Rosewall won the men’s single in 1953 at age 18 and again in 1972 at age 37, making him the youngest and oldest male to ever win the tournament.
– Between 1905 and 1969 the now called Australian Open used to be called the Australian Championship.
Since 1969 Serena Williams won the tournament a total of 5 times, this is the most times someone has won since that date.
– 40,000 tennis balls are used every year in this tournament
– The event used to be played in different cities across Australia, but from 1987 has always been played in Melbourne.
– Australian Open 2009 was the warmest event on record, with the average daily maximum of 34.7 Celsius.
– Australian Open 1986 was the coolest event on record, with an averaged temperature of 22.5 Celsius.
– Policy since 1998 is to stop games if temperature reaches 40 degrees.
– The longest Grand Slam final ever played happened in Melbourne in 2012. An epic battle of 5 hours 53 minutes between Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal ended with the Serb eventually winning
– Serena Williams broke her record winning against her sister, in Melbourne 2017, while being secretly pregnant.
– 3 women have won 3 times in a row: Steffi Graff – 1988,1989,1990 Monica Seles – 1991,1992,1993 and Martina Hingis – 1997, 1998, 1999.
– Margaret Court and Roy Emerson hold the record for winning most single titles to date, with 11 and six wins, correspondingly.

Published Under: Tennis /

Leave Your Comment Below

Be the first to comment below!